All Change!

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alandadp

Reaction score
Recent events have forced me to sit myself down and assess my life.

My sister died suddenly a couple of weeks ago. We weren’t that close, she was ten years older than me and left home when I was 8 and then emigrated to Toronto. Her death was, however, still quite a shock. She had been retired for three years (she didn’t retire until she was 68).

I have osteoarthritis in both hips and it has been getting more painful in recent months. I now rely on a walking stick to get around. My doctor won’t refer me for a hip replacement until I lose a significant amount of weight (a work in progress).

I am becoming less and less enthusiastic about my work. I work in IT and recent changes have led me to believe that quality and reliability are no longer amongst our management’s priorities and have been replaced by the speed of delivery and a reduction in clerical staff, something that I just can’t buy into.

Having written down the above factors the decision I made looks far more obvious than it did when I was mulling it over in my mind.

The decision - I am retiring at the end of this month.  Previously I hadn’t intended to retire for a least a couple more years so I haven’t made any plans on how to keep myself occupied in the future but I’m sure I’ll come up with something  :)

One thing is for sure, I will be spending more time on BoB than I presently do – you have been warned  :)

Adam

Glad you have the option to retire! (I wish I could!) I hope you enjoy your time, and it'll good to see you around more