Any Dunhill estate experts around?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eon

Reaction score
Today I acquired a small 1947 Dunhill Root apple with cumberland stem. It is a truly magnificent little pipe. I mostly collect Italians - Castellos and Cavicchis of more recent variety but have yet to see such well defined grain on any pipe (and this really goes to show something)! Though somewhat hidden under darker stain, the grain is perfectly formed around all sides, fine as angel's hair and arranged in ideal, tight pattern. I will post pictures as soon as I am done with restoration.

The reason I am seeking advice is the inner tube in the mouthpiece as I have no prior experience with these. It appears that the tube is stuck inside, with little rust showing near the mouth of the tenon. It has slightest horizontal play to it but will not dislodge. I have no idea how long the pipe has been sitting but the slight musty smell of the bowl suggests quite a while. Do you have any experience in getting stuck tubes out of mouthpieces? How likely is either to break in the process?

The first thing that came to mind was WD40 (I am a motorcyclist, after all) but the next moment it seemed silly. Oil would be almost impossible to remove afterwards and I would leave smoking the latter to my Kawasaki. Does anyone know of equally penetrable but less synthetic solution?

Welll...The inner tubes are made of aluminum, so you should not be seeing rust.......If it was me I would send it to a good pipe-repair man...Mark Tinsky (American Smoking Pipes in Montana) does good work at reasionable prices....There are higher-end repair guys, but you'll spend a lot more $$$$ for the job, and unless it is a true rarity, probably not necessary.....