Tamping and relighting

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pipeman

Reaction score
I'm still trying to get back into the swing of things haveing had a break of about 10 years from pipe smoking.
I've noticed my charring light only lights a very small amount before it goes out, so I tamp and relight.
I have however got myself into a tamp before every relight...is this normal? I don't tamp while lit...?

Great question Pipeman. I had to have a few pipes to be able to reply because it is in the muscle memory of pipe smoking for me. I just do what the backy and pipe needs and you can't go wrong. I tamp pretty regularly and also use finger if a gentle touch is needed through the smoke. I tamp sometimes while lit just to level the bowl for even burning. I am not an expert and still learning too I am sure the old guns here will have some handy advice also champ :)(y)

Last edited:
I've found that each pipe/bowl shape/depth and tobacco combination (ribbon, flake, broken flake, cubed, etc.) presents its own lighting & tamping challenge. I just react to whatever the situation presents to me. I've had bowls where the first match was all ever needed with just light tamping. Others were a constant tamp & relight scenario. Each bowl is a new adventure and challenge!! FWIW, FTRPLT

I'm still trying to get back into the swing of things haveing had a break of about 10 years from pipe smoking.
I've noticed my charring light only lights a very small amount before it goes out, so I tamp and relight.
I have however got myself into a tamp before every relight...is this normal? I don't tamp while lit...?
Yes... The fundamental things apply as time goes by. What you said....works for me, and I'm sure works for others.