A couple of new things for me...

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jhuggett

Reaction score
I've been smoking pipes for about four years now and one thing that I never got into was blends containing Latakia. The first year or so it would actually make me a little ill if a blend contained anything more than trace amounts. Over the last couple years curiosity would get the better of me or I would start to get jealous of all of you that enjoyed something so much and I could not so I would try a sample here and there. Sometimes I was surprised to find that I somewhat enjoyed them but still couldn't imagine smoking them regularly.

Yesterday was a cool, very autumn like day and when I was thinking of having a pipe I found myself thinking I may want to have an English blend. Up until now I had only smoked the small amount of English blends I had tried out of a cheap meerschaum. I didn't want to ghost any of my good pipes.

Well the time came so I went to my little cellar and realized I only had one English blend in there. A tin of Davidoff Royalty that was gifted to me by Danish Pipe Guy. The date on the tin was 9/99. I couldn't very well smoke such a blend in that crappy meerschaum so I pulled out my recently acquired Stanwell 217 that had still remained unsmoked.

I was a little nervous about taking the leap of dedicating just one of my pipes to English blends but figured what the hell? I got a great deal on that Stanwell and it seems like a pipe made for English blends. So I cracked open the 11 year old Royalty. I actually loved the smell this time. It's not a Latakia heavy blend but it still smelled strong to me.