a question for the more experienced smokers

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MDPipeSmoker

Reaction score
Ok first,

I have been smoking pipes for about a 2 years. Long enough to have some favorites and started to cellar some as well. During my trip to Boswells I picked up over 2 pounds of tobacco in total. I have placed the non aromatics in ball jars for safe keeping. But Now I have collected over 3 pounds of aromatics I enjoy. As hard as I try I cant smoke it all fast enough..... lol

My question is:
Knowing some say Aros's dont benefit from cellaring, has anyone tried vacuum sealing tobacco for long storage? Sounds like a way to keeping flavor and quality in aromatics. But I could also be wrong, I have been know to be wrong at least one other time in my life.... :)

Any input would be great.

Thanks
Jake

I can't answer with any great authority, but I do recall one of the mast blenders saying something about even the vacuum seal bags have a certain porosity that allows some gasses to escape.

If I were going to try it, I would probably follow what some of the survivalist (those types that believe the government is going to collaps, zombies will emerge, and society as we know it will cease to exist) do and add a mylar layer to the standard vacuum bag.

I can tell you that I have one aromatic in particular (Boswells PA Dutch Treat) that just doesn't seem to be as good a month after I ordered it. Like you I'm a fairly new guy to all this, but I've read that this isn't too uncommon with aromatics. I'll probably order more of that blend in the future, but I'll just order a couple ounces at a time. In other words, about what I would smoke in a month.