Ahhh, my first pipe smoker's forum

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

serif365

Reaction score
Hi! from beautiful, dry and hot Austin, Texas. I've been a newbie pipe smoker for more than 40 years meaning I have tried all those years to pick it up but never quite got the hang of it. I was a light cigarette smoker until two years ago when I just quit. I had a collection of 50+ pipes of various styles from MM cobs to meerschaums I had picked up while stationed in Turkey in the early seventies to some higher end Petersons and Dunhills with a few free-styles thrown in. I had the pipes but only a small amount of "house blend" from my local tobacconist (Pipe World). Then I discovered Pipes and Cigars!!! I started smoking a bowl or two every day of a dozen or so blends from P&G two months back AND I LOVE IT!!! Like I mentioned earlier it's hot down here this time of year. I get home from work in the evening and the temperature is still in the nineties so I change into shorts and tee, load up a pipe with the rotation for the day, head to the back porch, fill up a wash tub with cool water, sit in a favorite chair, put my feet in the tub, fire up my pipe, read a good book and fall into what I can only describe as pipe smoking Nirvana. My biggest question is what took me so long??? I don't think I would have ever enjoyed a pipe as long as I smoked cigarettes. :sunny:

Welcome to the Brotherhood Serif. Looks like you found the right method to deal with the heat.
And for being a newbie of 40 years you seem to have amassed quite a nice collection of pipes.
:cheers:

Welcome Serif. I had a similar entry into pipe smoking except with a lot fewer pipes. I never really got the hang of it, or the joy of it until recently. Studying this forum has actually helped me a lot.

Welcome to the forums! It sounds like you have a great routine!

"Y"

serif365":rmgh6ygi said: