Be Careful on Ebay -- Bad Seller Alert!

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

d4klutz

Reaction score
**Mods, if this is in the wrong area, please feel free to move.**

I have been shopping on ebay since 2004. I won a used lighter (nimrod commander) that was listed as working with a loose lid. I got the lighter and there was no spark. So, I put a flint in it and still no spark. Come to find out, the flint that was in it had decomposed due to humidity and age and basically cemented itself in the flint tube. 45 min later, with some elbow grease and ingenuity, I had the tube cleaned out and a new flint in place. Sparks! beautiful spark. Filled up the tank and she is working quite nicely.

My story doesn't end there. I always leave feedback, and in this case, left a neutral feedback with the following, "Lighter was not working. Was able to repair. Fair price."

I received the following threatening response from the seller, enjo189. (I substituted ** for swear words)

SHOULD OF SENT THE ************ BACK FOR A REFUND THE LIGHTER WORKED & HAS A LOOSE LID ADVERTISED RIGHT ****** ****** LIAR I WILL TRAVEL TO YOU.

Needless to say, I did report the seller to Ebay. But, fortunately, I am not worried, as I had the package sent to my work address. Just a warning to be careful who you deal with. I probably could have contacted the seller, but I liked the lighter, and I had gotten it to work. I did not want to return it. I felt that a neutral rating was valid.

Just be careful, and if you can, use a drop address rather than your home address.

:fpalm:

Found a seller that was wound up a l'il tight, eh? :lol:

8)

Not taking the sellers side but, the flint corroding is a very common thing
for lighters to do and it's usually fixed pretty easy. He might have had the lighter for sometime and never used it so put it up for sale without checking it, knowing it worked