Beginner Questions

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ace6891

Reaction score
Hi,
Im new to pipe smoking and the only tobacco that i have used were two house blends from my local pipe shop. I will likely run out around the end of the month and am not quite sure where to go from here. There are a few questions that I was hoping i could get help on before making my next purchase:

I'm sure that that it is a matter of personal preference, but are there brands that are generally better than others? or ones I should stay away from?
Could anyone recommend a few different brands that would be good for a beginner?
Should I finish one type of tobacco before moving on to a different one or can I go back and forth?
:scratch:

Heya,

Surely there are more qualified members to answer your questions, but I'll throw in my two cents. I've only been smoking for about 4 years now, but over that time I've smoked a ton of different varieties. I started with aromatic house blends. Then eventually I found that the flavoring in the aros would give me headaches. So I moved onto natural house blends. And then over to tinned blends. Mostly McClelland VA's. It all depends how much you smoke. I've been a daily smoker for pretty much all 4 years, so the progression was pretty quick.

And as far as types I avoid... and I know some people are probably gonna hate me for this... buuut I tend to stay away from anything you can find behind the counter of a drug store. I tried some Captain Black when I was desperate and got the worst headache of my life.

Oh, and as far as going back and forth, that's part of the fun for me. I've got four tins opened. Three naturals and an aromatic. The only thing about going back and forth is that the pipe will hold onto a bit of the flavor from the last blend you smoked.