Blends similar to St. Bruno Flake?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

laherb

Reaction score
I was given a pipeful of St. Bruno at the Richmond Show, and was totally blown away with it. Sadly we can't get it in the states. So, I was wondering if any of you guys have any suggestions for blends similar to St. Bruno? I'm guessing something from the Lakeland area, but there are so many I don't really know where to start.

Abe

Hey Abe...

...I'm not an expert, just found some relevant information that may or may not help...pretty sick and stuck at home with the computer (a dangerous thing 8) ) ...so I did a little leg (finger?) work on the subject...

These were reputed to have similar qualities to St. Bruno, that are easily available here:

http://www.smokingpipes.com/tobacco/by-maker/Erinmore/moreinfo.cfm?product_id=5555

http://www.pipesandcigars.com/macnavflak.html?cmp=googleproducts&kw=macnavflak

http://www.marscigars.com/gh-bosuncutplug.aspx

...all of these were based on blog/site reviews and comparisons, and were only somewhat similar to St. Bruno, but it's better than nothing...

Again, I haven't tried any of them.

I think it might be time for you to do a little research on your own. Go over to 'tobacco reviews dot com' and pull up the Gawith, Hogarth & Co. tobaccos and work your way down the ranks, reading the reviews for the blends listed below. Of course, you will find widely polarized claims from ambrosia to road apples cause your now entering 'the Lakeland District' (it would give you a good feel for things if the theme music from the Twilight Zone were playimg behind Rod Serling's narrative voice)

dee dee dee dum, dee dee dee dum, dee dee dee dum...etc.

You like Condor / St. Bruno. You want more but can't get it. Please go to line nunber three...Blackhorse will help you...

Outside of GH blends try Erinmore.