Cobs and blends

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stinger4me

Reaction score
I would like some input and whether or not there are blends to avoid smoking in corn cob pipes. Usually I smoke only one blend per pipe, cob or otherwise. There is a new cob here and I am going to use it for a Uhle blend, [b]Raiders Blend [/b]or Mac Baren's Scottish Mixture.[/b] [/i] They are some of my favorite pipes and I can worry less about losing or breaking one of them compared to a nice briar. Thanks for the help.

Stinger

Since you can't build up cake in a cob, I don't think you really need to be concerned about it.

I haven't found a blend yet that didn't smoke well in a Cob. Some cuts/blends seem to do better with different bowl sizes and shapes, but there's a Cob for about any purpose. Priced right too!

I like cobs for just about any kind of blend. I have a bent MM Diplomat for aros and another for latakia blends. I have a straight Diplomat that has a pretty small shallow bowl that I use for flakes. Great, versatile pipes. Yeah, and definitely read tiltjlp's primer!

John Patton is the reason why I have so many cobs. Why, just the other day, I was in Tinder Box. Shucks, forgot my pipe. Bought one for $8 (yeah, I know, expensive, but gotta support the B&M...), a pipe nail and a crappy lighter, and I spent 5 hours in there hanging out with friends, playing backgammon and now I have a "glove box pipe" that'll last me for years. $20 basket pipe? Pfff. Cobs all the way. 8)

I have a set of cobs just for travel: one for cigar mixtures, one for Latakia mixtures, and one for Virginias. Which also means, I have a set for home. That, and about six more. :lol: I love 'em. 8) They have never treated me wrong.

tiltjlp":cxaun8a4 said:
Dutch":cxaun8a4 said:
Since you can't build up cake in a cob, I don't think you really need to be concerned about it.