Complete newbie to 'nasal snuff' questions

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kilted1

Reaction score
You guys have got my curiosity up. I've never partaken of nasal snuff, though I've used Copenhagen for many years.

I don't really know if I'm all that interested, mainly just curious. My questions are:

1. How really do you use nasal snuff?
2. What is required to try it out?
3. I have 'hay fever' in the spring and early summer, will nasal snuff give me sinus troubles if I try it?
4. Where does the snuff go once you've sniffed it, seems to me it would end up in the back of your throat.

I smoke strongish tobaccos, yet what I've read on Mars site leads me to believe that there are some snuffs which newbies should leave alone and others which seem to have recommendations for newbies. Is there that much of a difference in strengths? I've offered a 'dip' of Copenhagen to many a curious friend over the years, only to watch them go rather green around the gills a few minutes later.

I'm sure I'll get a variety of opinion, and that's really what I'm after, trying to make up my mind about whether I'd like to include a couple of tins to sample with my next tobacco order.

kilted1":qq8mc7s8 said:
3. I have 'hay fever' in the spring and early summer, will nasal snuff give me sinus troubles if I try it?
4. Where does the snuff go once you've sniffed it, seems to me it would end up in the back of your throat.
I guess I'll take this one. Being relatively new to snuff (bout a year).

You take about a pea size amount and gently sniff it into each nostril. Just into the nasal cavity, not the sinus membrane as some idiot local doctor was explaining to me.

A can of snuff, bout 3 dollars. Look it up next time you do ta tobacco order.