Cornel & Diehl Manhattan Afternoon

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HistoryMajor

Reaction score
I'm not much of a reviewer, being a total newbie to this. But, also being a total noob, I knows what I likes! And I like this blend. The tin says "Naturally sweet Golden Virginia leaf with a drop of honey sliced into flakes." And that's pretty much what ya get. I also didn't see a review on here of this, so I figured I'd give one a shot!

Great tin aroma, quite moist flakes that rub out easily. I dried it for a bit first, and then stuffed it into a Robert Blatter slight bent pipe...my very first pipe, and I went outside to enjoy it. It's just above 0 Celsius here, with just a slight breeze. Gorgeous night to be out enjoying a pipe.

Major impressions are that of a tasty virginia tobacco...that seems to dominate the blend. However, there is a slight touch of sweetness...my guess is from the honey. That sensation is very strong and pleasant on the exhale through the nose. About halfway through, there is a slight grassiness. It reminds me of a mild cigar in sensation, but not in taste...if that makes any sense! :lol:

I had to relight once or twice, because I got distracted, but the flavor stayed great the whole way through. A nice, mild smoke for the end of the day, and I suspect just enough nicotine to relax me. I don't get hit by it ever really, but this blend had just enough for me to notice its presence. But still, on the mild side of medium strength I think.

I only suffered a little bit of bite...I have a weak tongue for that. Plus I'm a lazy packer. :p On the subject of packing, I found I filled the bowl a little too loosely, but tamping during smoking tightened up the draw just a bit, and produced a fair bit more smoke and flavor.