Cyprian Star Experiment

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sloppy Joe Hemingway

Reaction score
I have two tins of McC Cyprian Star sitting here. I got them both from a friend who wasn't a huge fan and was nice enough to pass them on to me to try. One tin is marked "Cyprian Star III," the bottom of which is marked that it was made in 1996. The other is a fresh can, marked 2012. I JUST popped these tins today for a smoke... Here's the experiment part:

I'm new to pipe smoking and I'm still developing my palate. I'm willing to send anyone who wants one a sample of BOTH Cyprian Stars with the hitch that whoever requests the samples will write their thoughts here, comparing and contrasting the two. I'll happily distribute samples until the supply runs out. Just PM me your address. Any takers?

Well, I have tried a bowl of each.

This was my first experience with Cyprian Star and I can say that, in my opinion, this is a great blend.

There is just the right amount of Latakia to give a nice full flavor without overpowering the Virginias.
In fact the Virginias provide just a hint of sweetness that lasts right to the end of the bowl. Good stuff!

I found the two samples to be nearly identical in flavor. Both were just slightly moist, but took a light easily and stayed lit reasonably well. The 1993 sample was, and this is hard to describe, smoother and less edgy. The flavors were more thoroughly integrated. It's sort of like how beef stew or chilli always tastes better the next day.

I would highly recommend this blend (either vintage).

Thank you Sloppy Joe for sharing this great experience.

Todd

As promised here is the first part of my notes, these are from smoking the 1996 Cyprian Star.

Josh, Thank you so much for the sample. This stuff is undeniably superb in every way shape & form and I am a better human being for having smoked it. :D