Do any of you have your pipes insured?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tg lorenz

Reaction score
Brothers,
I do not want to come off being ostentatious but I was wondering if any of you have your pipe collection insured?

I’ve been collecting for about five years and just recently decided to do a count of what I have spent over the years and I was completely shocked!  :affraid: A Roush pipe here and Parks pipe there and some estate Dunhill’s and others do add up fast! Definitely taking this information to the grave and not telling the wife  :lol: , but seriously I’ve been thinking the greatest risk would be fire. I don’t think a common burglar would have a clue as to the value of a rack of pipes. I’m thinking my homeowners insurance as they cover replacement cost of contents would look at 50+ pipes as a “collection” and not replace even one without a separate “collectable” rider in addition to my normal policy.

Do any of you have any advice on this issue or do you actually have a written policy that covers your precious bits of briar and vulcanite?

Thanks,
Tom

I don't have anything covered under insurance, most of what I have is not replaceable and money won't bring it back. I'm home all the time so the likeliness of burglar is slim, as far as fire and any other such happenings of the like, well I'm here so they'll be going out the door or widow with me at the same time. Besides I'm sure an insurance company would want proof of value and I surely don't have receipts for them.

Folks, if you have homeowner's or renter's insurance, your pipes are covered. In a former life, I was a claim rep.

flyguy":rpaynydn said:
Folks, if you have homeowner's or renter's insurance, your pipes are covered.  In a former life, I was a claim rep.