From Rhode Island

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bud Savoie

Reaction score
Greetings, BoBs! I bought my first pipe as a college freshman in 1961 and, with two interruptions, have been a devoted fan of pipes for over half a century. I'm a retired lawyer and love to relax with a good book and a pipe. Problem: wife has developed an aversion to tobacco smoke and has banned smoking in the house, so I'm relegated to the car or the porch (and it's February and cold). Does anyone have a solution (not divorce; we've been married for 38 years and I'm in love with the woman)?

Welcome to BoB, maybe get her a pipe? I have been lucky so far my wife loves the smell of cigars and pipes, even the smell of Latakia

Welcome!

How about the garage with an electric heater (or two) if needed.

Also there are some air cleaners that one pipe tobacco reviewer on you tube was raving about. A dedicated room with a good filtration system might be a compromise.

Best of luck to you and welcome!

Heya Bud, welcome to BoB, yeah mate, get a great big comfy chair and an industrial strength space heater in your shed/garage and camp out in there for your smokes. ;)

Welcome to Brothers Of Briar forum, and enjoy! :D Hm ... about wife... do you have maybe in house your own space (room) for smoking pipe?

Welcome to BoB. Smoking in the garage with a heater on is the only way I can enjoy a smoke this time of year. Every ounce in a wile Ill go to the local smoke shop and enjoy some time in the smoking lounge too.

Welcome to the Brotherhood. Here in Michigan, where it is 14 degrees right now, I can't wait for spring to get here and I can enjoy my pipes outside once again.