Getting my second pipe (help!)

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phrozenfearz

Reaction score
Hello community,

I'm planning on making my second pipe purchase within the next few days and would love for some input from this experienced community.

As a college student, my budget is a tad bit limited. I'd put the upper limit at around $70-$80 (USD) for something quality, but if I can get a much better pipe for just $5-10 more I don't mind ponying up the extra.

My first pipe is a Stanwell. I just read over in this forum (https://www.brothersofbriar.com/ye-olde-pipe-rack-f3/something-is-rotten-in-denmark-t5166.htm) that Stanwell will be outsourced their production and closing their original factory. This leads me to want to rush out and buy another Stanwell before all the Danish-made pipes are gone.

However, I don't want to limit myself in any way, so if buying something like a Peterson would be the much better choice, then I want you guys to tell me that.

Any and all input is greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
phrzn

You can't go wrong with what is suggested above but another couple of pipes that I would suggest in that price range are Jirsa and Vauen. IMHO they in the same category as Petersons, Stanwells, Nordings, and Savanellis in that price range for construction, quality and smokeability. Mastro Beraldi might be another one.

Are you only looking at new pipes?

I can look through pipes and see if I can let go of some. I know I've been meanin to sell some of my Savinellis.

@Texas Outlaw, I could be tempted. This whole "breaking in" process of briars is quite daunting, though I think I'm doing alright with my current one. Let me know if you find any you're looking to get rid of. (Though I think I'm leaning towards getting a new one.)

I say go estate....

More pipe for the money... Little or no break in....