Good Evening, From a New Guy

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sloppy Joe Hemingway

Reaction score
Howdy, all!

I'm a long time lurker who has finally taken the plunge. I've been smoking a pipe for about six months, slowly learning my way around pipes and tobaccos. I've got a pretty sensitive and eclectic palette, so I love me some aromatics (Hobbit's Weed is delicious), Penzance, and Hamborger Veermaster.

One thing I need to do is get a good pipe. The one I'm smoking is a cheesy no-name briar (maybe?) with a plastic stem. When I finally realized I could taste the differences in tobaccos, I realized they all had a strange sidenote... The stem of my cheap pipe added a delicious hot plastic taste! So, now that I have a decent cellar started, that'll be my next purchase. Any advice on this is appreciated!

A little about me. I'm a native of the Chicago area. My family contains a number of pipe smokers, so I come by this past time honestly. I'm a former Marine, which gives me a tremendous desire to travel and explore. I'm also an avid reader (Hemingway and Ian Fleming are my favs) which I find is a great companion for a good pipe of tobacco.

More than anything, I'm glad to be here amongst the brotherhood, ready to learn!

Kind Regards,

-Josh

Welcome, Sloppy Joe! Lots of decent pipes out there for $40-100; start looking at them on line and think about somethings that could stick with you for the rest of your life if you like 'em!

DrT999":4xwakib3 said:
Welcome, Sloppy Joe! Lots of decent pipes out there for $40-100; start looking at them on line and think about somethings that could stick with you for the rest of your life if you like 'em!
Thanks for all the welcoming words!