Quantcast
  • ~ How to Use the New Software ~

Try logging in and if it is not accepting your password,, look to the bottom right corner of page for Contact Us and send a message.

Haunted Bookshop Review

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

JJPHOTO

Reaction score
Being a noob I feel competely unqualified to give my opinion on a tobacco, but since I was asked in another thread...

This was one of the best if not THE best smoke I've had since picking up a pipe (which hasn't been long mind you). I tried the Haddo's Delight last night and didn't find the appeal in it at all. It reminded me of the time back when I smoked cigs and I found a half of a pack in a coat from months prior and tried to smoke it. Flavorless, weak, stale - all things I didn't expect from the reviews I've read of Haddo's. I'll give it another try just to be sure, but I may be passing it along to another brother.

I smoked it in a brand new cob that I've set aside as my tester for Burley blends. When lit it produced a massive amount of rich smoke - didn't think I'd have to even relight after the initial light, but after a couple minutes I did. This reminds me a lot of the Puros Indios cigars I used to smoke back in the day. Nice, rich, beautiful full flavor with a subtle little pepper to it, which I assume is perique? Every once in a while there would be just the slightest sweetness come through, but not in an overpowering or dominating way.

I wound up getting it too hot because I couldn't make myself slow down on it because I was enjoying it so much. If you get it too hot, it starts to really kick ya. Not in a tongue bite sort of way, but really changes flavor and gets pretty harsh. I let it cool down for a bit and relit and finished off the bowl completely happy.

Left almost no dottle in the bottom when I finished. Definitely left an aftertaste like I used to get when smoking cigars, but not in a bad way. I smoke non-aromatics outside so I'm not sure on the room note.