Hi From Amsterdam

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dugo

Reaction score
Hi all!

I'm a longtime tobacco user fairly new to the pipe. I started smoking as a teenager, mostly shag (rolling tobacco) as I couldn't afford cigarettes. My favorite brand was Drum. Nowadays I mostly smoke Camel cigarettes (EU JTI blend). I keep a bag of Van Nelle zwaar just in case I run out of cigarettes. It is a very dark and heavy rolling tobacco. A very nice flavour, but you just can't smoke much of it.

If I don't have to work the next day I also like to smoke cannabis. I have been growing my own since 2003 (lowrider). This year I finally mastered the finer art of curing and became self sufficient for a good smoke.

I like a big cigar on occasion, the occasion mostly being after copious diner with a glass of premium rum.

Back in March I decided to try the pipe. I got me a simple straight briar pipe from Del Nobile and everything else you need and started trying some tobaccos. This is what I tried so far.

Coopvaert Naturel. It is without additions, just tobaccos. This also makes it rather dry. I used this to burn in my pipe.
Schippers speciaal. It is like coopvaert what we call here baai tabak. Simple dried and cut tobaccos but this one has a bit of chocolate flavor. They were perfect to burn in my pipe and teach me how to smoke calmly.

Sweet Dublin Irish Whiskey and ALSBO whisky. I just love the smell of these strongly flavoured tobaccos. I find it hard to keep a pipe burning with tobacco from a fresh pouch I really need to get me a refillable lighter that doesn't suck.

Vintage Bell's Three Nuns. My grandfather has a carton of tins from the late 70s/early 80s and dug one up for me to try when I mentioned smoking pipe. I suspect it is a little dryer than originally sold but still a good smoke. Really dark earthy stuff with loads of nicotine.