How do you select a new pipe?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cutshot

Reaction score
Friends,
I have been smoking pipes on and off for about 25 years and in that time have purchased many different pipes from many different pipe makers. I have at times bought pipes on impulse only to realize later that they really didn't fit in my rotation. After many "mistakes" and spending countless dollars I have learned what I like in a pipe and was wondering what factors you may consider when purchasing a new pipe?

Here is what I consider not in any particular order...
1. Visual Appeal - It must catch my eye, I love classic looking pipes!
- Shape - I normally lean towards billiards in the straight variety but am also occasionally drawn to 1/2 bent pipes
- Size - I like pipes in the Dunhill size group 4 or 5 range
- Finish - A great sandblast is my most favorite finish then smooth if the grain is decent and last of all rusticated. I love to feel the texture of a sandblast or rusticated pipe in my hand while smoking.
2. Weight - I don't purchase a pipe if it feels heavy, the lighter the better as I like to clench while smoking.
3. Brand - Preferably from a reputable pipe maker but I primarily only look at Cavicchi and Castello nowadays although I do own and enjoy many other excellent brands.
4. Bit - Lucite or Vulcanite - Lucite only for me as I am not willing to deal with oxidization any more. Lucite does not bother me in being too brittle as I have heard other smokers comment that they like the comfort of vulcanite.
5. Finished or Unfinshed bowl - I prefer unfinished bowls so I can see what the inside of the bowl looks like and to build my own cake not on top of a pre-carbonized bowl.
6. Does it pass the pipe cleaner test? Must pass the test for me to purchase!
7. Is the pipe drilled dead center and to the bottom of the bowl? - A must for me!