How to judge an Estate?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Raz_kaz

Reaction score
I am new to the pipe world and barely smoke, maybe 4 bowls a week but already getting the knack to get a few more pipes IF the price is right. I already spent a good chunk on my brand new pipe and with some more research I am leaning towards acquiring a few estates pipes.

Now my question to you is how to tell if an estate pipe is worth buying or it being junk? The collection is from an old man who had the pipes for 30+ years and hasn't smoked them, and probably maintained them, in over 10 years. He is about 50kms away and doesn't know how to use the internet so therefore no pictures, hence why I will be going to check them out in person.

What are some of the signs I should be looking for apart from the obvious chips, cracks, holes and gouges, loose stems?

Any help is appreciated

Unless they're lucite, the stems will probably be green/oxidised. So you can expect that. What you look for is deep tooth marks from clenching. The fewer (and shallower) these are, the better. Is the button nearly gnawed-away ?

The next thing you check is the top and rims. Did the guy beat the dottle out of them against an ashtray or a wall, leaving them all scarred ? Will this bother you if he did ? (If you really like the pipe otherwise, it probably will).

Even more important is the inside rim. Is it all charred out of round from careless lighting ? (That can be hard -- even impossible -- to judge if the top's all crusted over with solidified tar).

Check the bowl walls for dark spots that can (but don't necessarily) indicate an incipient burn-out from smoking too hot for too long.