i'll have some more cake!

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bruins

Reaction score
recently, i've had two different 'roll cake' tobaccos, a mac baren blend, and Peter Stokkebye Luxury Bullseye Flake. they both seem to have a good combo of hard hitting virginia and then a nice sweetness that smooths it out. anyway, this type of tobacco is completely new to me and i really like it. as a newbie, i'd like a little history on the 'cake' blends and any more recommendations like these. i've heard raves about escudo and mcclelland's navy flake (wait, is flake a cake?). see, i need some tobacco 101!

The others that come to mind are Escudo, Davidoff Flake Medallions and Dunhill Navy Rolls. I've only smoked Escudo and Flake Medallions but both are excellent. Great stuff, with Davidoff only beating Escudo by a hair for my all time favorite smokes.

The spun flakes that we are talking about are different in presentation when generally talking about flakes. Standard flakes are sheets of tobacco that are pressed in blocks then sliced into strips. Rectangular in shape and can vary in density quite a bit between blenders and blends. McClelland's flakes are usually presented in a broken flake. Meaning they have be broken up and are in bits of pressed tobacco.

ahh...this is making sense now. thanks jason. one of our esteemed brothers is sending a sample of escudo to try. see, that's what's great about tobacco, you never find the end, always someone opening another door to another room.

bruins":1okahfcl said:
ahh...this is making sense now. thanks jason. one of our esteemed brothers is sending a sample of escudo to try. see, that's what's great about tobacco, you never find the end, always someone opening another door to another room.
You said it bro!!!!!

Jason, good explanation there bro!!!

Piet Binsbergen":5o1wab0z said:
bruins":5o1wab0z said: