Islay King?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
As for which whisky's the king of Islay, I cannot say. But last year my class went on a fieldtrip to Islay (I'm studying geology) where we visited the Laphroaig destillery on the last day! The people who worked there were so friendly, witty and overall extremely nice to us that that has to count for something! The tour ended with free drams of Quarter Cask for everyone!
A funny thing was that our guide also played the accordion at the pub in Port Charlotte, which seriously was THE best pub I've ever visited!

If you have the chance, take a trip to Islay! :D

Ossian":i15cp0lp said:
As for which whisky's the king of Islay, I cannot say. But last year my class went on a fieldtrip to Islay (I'm studying geology) where we visited the Laphroaig destillery on the last day! The people who worked there were so friendly, witty and overall extremely nice to us that that has to count for something! The tour ended with free drams of Quarter Cask for everyone!
A funny thing was that our guide also played the accordion at the pub in Port Charlotte, which seriously was THE best pub I've ever visited!

If you have the chance, take a trip to Islay! :D
That sounds like a wonderful trip!
Now I'm dreaming...

Had a glass of Caol Isla, and then a glass of Laphroaig. The Isla is drier and a bit more antiseptic, and the Laphroaig is much richer.
Either way, I'm happy! :drunken:

I got to try the Lagavulin 16 at pipe club thursday night, a gentleman there brought a bottle and was kind and generous enough to offer a dram. I enjoyed it thoroughly, enough to know that I definitely need to get a bottle and spend some time with it, but the one drink in a smoky room while goofing off with friends didn't leave me feeling I had a handle on it well enough to comment. It's now on my short list.