Jar and Cans and Tins Oh My!

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zonomo

Reaction score
Question about longer term storage. There are about 4 or 5 tobaccos that I really love and have been buying in bulk. I store about 1 lbs in 2 liter lockable jars. Then I take a bit and keep it in either a regular mason jar or a Wide Mouth 1/2 Mason jar that way I don't expose to much air to my bulk storage tobaccos. I have several of my 1 lbs storage jars that have not been opened in over a year (I'm fairly new to pipe smoking. Only about 15 months). I am trying to not take tobacco from the bulk storage until I run out of the smaller jars. Is this the right approach?

2nd question: I just ordered a bunch of Sutliff tins. Am I better only opening 1 tin at a time and jarring that or should I take all of them and put them in a larger mason lockable jar? In my 15 months of pipe smoking, I have only gone through 2 tins and have about 6 tins opened with anywhere from 1/2 to 1/3 of the tin left (stored in a mason jar).

Final question: Am I better of with 3 x 1lbs storage mason jars or 1 giant lockable mason jar? Thanks everyone.

zonomo":6hzpnccw said:
Question about longer term storage.  There are about 4 or 5 tobaccos that I really love and have been buying in bulk.  I store about 1 lbs in 2 liter lockable jars.  Then I take a bit and keep it in either a regular mason jar or a Wide Mouth 1/2 Mason jar that way I don't expose to much air to my bulk storage tobaccos.  I have several of my 1 lbs storage jars that have not been opened in over a year (I'm fairly new to pipe smoking.  Only about 15 months).  I am trying to not take tobacco from the bulk storage until I run out of the smaller jars.  Is this the right approach?

Sounds like a reasonable approach to me. I do a similar procedure