Just got back from my local Tinder Box

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Headmint

Reaction score
Wouldn't it be nice if we pipe smokers weren't just an afterthought in brick-n-mortar tobacco cigar shops? Jeez. What a depressing experience.

I'm new to this town and like everywhere else, you basically have little or no selection of pipe tobaccos you can get without using the internet. So I was excited to discover a Tinder Box.

The only tinned tobacco they had was two offerings, that is to say, two individual tins of Davidoff, overpriced by approximately $11 (compared to the net). The guy had to go dig them up out of the back.

Jeez.

Just like most shops, they stock what sells - and pipe tobacco sales have significantly lagged cigars for decades.

Doesn't matter much to me anymore. I haven't purchased at local (Calif) shops for many years due to the high prices and low selections. I do appreciate the major online pipe shops though as they have a huge selection and unbeatable prices.

It's a shame how bad it is now... the only TB in the Atlanta area is over 60 miles away from me, but it's not worth the drive. They have way more wine and cigars than pipe stuff. It's sad to see a company that I used to work for become what they are today.

It's pretty disheartening, but I ALWAYS get excited about B&Ms, even though I am always, always disappointed. None of them have an interest in cornering their local pipe smokers market with a good selection and decent prices. The pipe smokers market in any given location is, what, five dudes? Guess I can't really blame them.

I resolve to no longer get my hopes up, dammit.