Need Recommendation

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Irish Mike

Reaction score
I just finished a tin of C&D Blockade Runner and I absolutely loved it. Are there any others out there similar to this blend? Any recommendation would be appreciated. Thanks

This is probably going to come off wrong, but if you like it, why not just keep smoking it ?

:face:

I will keep smoking it, however as I am new to pipe smoking I am looking to try different blends. You never know, the next blend you try may be more enjoyable than what you are currently smoking.

Check out SG Navy Flake its virginias and a little bit of latakia pressed with rum.

Oh, man. Now you're hooked! I suspect I'm becoming known as "that BR guy" around here because every time someone mentions it, I jump in and start raving about it. (Maybe that should be my next review) I actually just sent out the last of my current supply to another member.
If it's the rum you like, look for anything with the word "Navy" in the name. It comes from the days of wooden sailing ships, when rum was used to keep vermin out of the tobacco rations. You may find a navy blend made from better tobacco than Blockade Runner, but in my experience, not one with the same kick of rum. BR's really exceptional in that regard. That's one of things I like about it. BR does have a Cypriot cousin, though, called Black Frigate. This is basically the same thing with added latakia. Lat's not for everyone, and many newcomers shy away from it at first. It gives a blend a smokey, sometimes tangy flavor. If that sounds like something you might like, PM me your address and I'll send you a sample.

I would have suggested SG Navy, but since Flytyer beat me to it, I'll add GLP Sextant. Both Lat heavy. Mac Baren Navy is very good if you are looking to skip the lat.