New guy from the Texas Gulf Coast

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SMITHENHALS

Reaction score
Hello all, I’m new to pipe smoking and need LOTS of help. A little about myself, I have a very addictive personality so when I find something I’m interested in a jump in head first. I started home brewing beer, wine, mead, and cider a few years ago with a small amount of equipment…now I have a full brewery, with thousands of dollars in equipment. I started smoking cigars around the same time….I keep three humidors full, I just can’t help myself. I recently stumbled upon this very interesting ART of pipe smoking, and got the bug. I went to the local tobacconist and asked for advice. A Stanwell, pipe tool, and lighter later I’m hooked….but I suck at it and it’s driving me insane! I get a burnt tongue every time, have to relight every 3 minutes, and am starting to get discouraged.

SMITHENHALS":m3i7ipov said:
Hello all, I’m new to pipe smoking and need LOTS of help. A little about myself, I have a very addictive personality so when I find something I’m interested in a jump in head first. I started home brewing beer, wine, mead, and cider a few years ago with a small amount of equipment…now I have a full brewery, with thousands of dollars in equipment. I started smoking cigars around the same time….I keep three humidors full, I just can’t help myself. I recently stumbled upon this very interesting ART of pipe smoking, and got the bug. I went to the local tobacconist and asked for advice. A Stanwell, pipe tool, and lighter later I’m hooked….but I suck at it and it’s driving me insane! I get a burnt tongue every time, have to relight every 3 minutes, and am starting to get discouraged.
Welcome to the BoB
My advice would be "Be patient and Relax"
The art of packing and smoking a pipe is not a skill a person can acquire overnight.
Relax and enjoy the process.