Newbie Needs a Tobacco Recommendation

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CarterHallJunkie

Reaction score
Good Evening Gentlemen,

I'm definitely a newbie here at BoB and in a lot of ways I'm still a newbie to pipe smoking. Although I have smoked a pipe off and on for 20 years, I have never stayed with it long enough to really get into it and learn - (thus my reason for joining the BoB).

As my chosen username might suggest :D I do love me some OTC Carter Hall.

But I would like to try something other than a simple OTC brand of tobacco.

So I'm looking for recommendations from you, my brothers.

What might I enjoy as a newbie?

I am open to try most anything.

Love, Peace and Bicycle Grease,
Frank

Here is a nice article. Some basic information and blend recommendations from a master. Be sure to check out Greg's web site and his writings. Granted, he is recommending his own blends. Use them as a guide for similar blends and I think you will be on the right track. It is simply amazing to me that most blends from many blenders do not taste exactly alike, given the limited number of component tobaccos to work with.

http://pipesmagazine.com/python/manufacturer-retailer-spotlight/interview-with-greg-pease-of-gl-pease-tobacco-part-1/

Havent tried CH, but my understanding is that it's main feature is burley. If you dig that flavor and would be interested in exploring some other perhaps higher quality and more intersting burley blends, then i would suggest blends from Uhles tobacco shop. I think they are in wisconsin if i remember correctly. You would have to call them to order since although they have a website, you cant order the tobacco online, or at least couldnt last time i checked. Its definitely worththe call though. My favorites from them are their blend #300, crushed white burley, and perfection plug.