Olive Wood

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alanchrz

Reaction score
2nd Pipe
Olive Wood, 3/4" bowl, 1 1/4" deep, overall length is just over 6"

03152012031.jpg

03152012030.jpg

03152012032.jpg

03152012037.jpg

Comments/questions/critiques are welcome. I'm still learning and any advice is appreciated!

something about where the shank hits the bowl -- as other carvers have mentioned -- is very hard to perfect. you have taken the approach of making a minimal transition, and lack of a separate stem makes me think of the glass pipes you can get in shops that say "for tobacco use only" in big signs in front of pot leaf black light posters.

you have obvious talent with the wood, but I would love to see a traditional pipe shape with stem. I learned in art class in school that you cant just splatter paint and become famous like jackson pollack. you have to learn how to do lots of really BORING stuff, then you can get famous for splattering paint. Point being, you can still be creative, but if you can make a billiard that would put dunhill to shame, then I want to see that first. Or you could be like Van Gogh... go crazy and die, then your work will be worth millions.

Caveat: i am not a carver, just my impressions from the pics.

you have got nice piece of olive wood... really nice grain... hope she will smoke really nice...
related shape... Kurt Huhn once told me when i was starting with my pipemaking hobby that it is allways better when you can say where the bowl stops and where the shank begins... next time please try to work around the bowl that much so that the shape of the bowl really emerges from the wood...