pipe reamers?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whitepony1986

Reaction score
i know when the cake builds up i will need to ream my pipes i have never done this before and being on a very limited income right now i was wondering if you could use a drill bit turning it by hand slowly to ream the cake back a bit. Thank you all for your input.

whitepony1986":bkik8uac said:
i know when the cake builds up i will need to ream my pipes i have never done this before and being on a very limited income right now i was wondering if you could use a drill bit turning it by hand slowly to ream the cake back a bit. Thank you all for your input.
That is something some here have used. I used one of the "British Butner" reamers for years before getting my Reem-n-Klean reamer. They can be used quite effectively for some Maintenance type of reaming but not for anything much heavier. I still revert to mine for a "touch-up" reaming when I need. It's easy to use, and relatively inexpensive. I'd give one a try. :p 

where would i find one all i can find are the 3 in one tools or pipe knives? I guess i shoudl add i don't have the most steady of hands so something that won't mess up the briar is great

Unless it's an estate pipe with significant cake, I find the less-than-$1 aluminum pipe nails have the perfect amount of edge for regular bowl maintenance.   House cleaning is always best when done in regular, short intervals rather than huge, days-long excursions twice a year.   :) 

8)