Question?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paddy-boy

Reaction score
My pipe collection consists almost entirely of Stanwells and Petersons.
I have become intrigued by Kaywoodies.
How do the new ones smoke compared to the ones of yesteryear?

I'm not an expert but I have a few oldies and a couple new ones (mostly 13B's). The older models all have the screw in "stinger" bit (which I've cut off one I smoke regularly), some of the new models have the push in bit. The problem I've had with the stinger is I can't pass a pipe cleaner so moisture gurgle becomes a nuisance. The wood on my older models is thicker and aged more and has a better grain.
They have some nicer grade pipes which can cost a few bucks more but IMO the cheapies (~$30) smoke just fine.
I hope JustPipes wades in here as he is the Kaywoodie expert.
I have found some great deals on ebay.
Good luck.

I was browsing Cup o' Joe's section today
Which prompted my question

Most every Kaywoodie I have is a good smoker. Now, are they the best pipe on the market? No.

BUT, for the money, you can't hardly go wrong with a Kaywoodie.

Check out Grey Fox online for some fancier modern Kaywoodies--the ones I have are fine smokers.

There is a huge gap between the cheapo 25 dollar kaywoodies with a metal stinger in them and the higher grade pipes. The "new era" kaywoodies are pretty good value, certainly equivalent of Stanwell etc.

If you are looking for a "better" pipe than a stanny or a pete, then I would pass on the stinger woodies, myself.

I bought a Kaywoodie Shellcraft in an apple/brandy shape from GreyFox. Took a bit to break in, but it's a more than decent pipe. FTRPLT

Well what can you say? Kaywoodies are Kaywoodies..................

Let me say that I am by no means a Kaywoodie expert, but rather just very fond of them and that my judgement is probably clouded with bias.