Recommendations like Dark Star and Blackwoods Flake please.

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tarheel7734

Reaction score
I have been smoking since 98 but from 2005 to now I have been primarily an English smoker. Last year I discovered Va/per blends and this yeah nicer aged pressed Va flakes. I have smoked va's off an on over the years but had problems with a chemical reaction so didn't smoke them often. Lately I have been enjoying Blackwoods flake and Dark Star. As long as I have an acidic drink with sugar and a side of water the reaction has been minimal.

I am now looking for blends along the lines of these two. I loved the aged dark flakes. They are naturally sweet and tasty without the sickly sweet addition of flavoring found in most aros. So lets talk about this and please suggest away.

I'm with you. Lat forward blends are my main stay. When i stray i like Mac Baren HH Mature Virginia and GLP Cumberland though if nicotine is the chemical reaction you speak of I'd avoid Cumberland, it'll smack you around. Obviously everyone's favorite SG FVF, it needs at least a year in the tin, it's too harsh fresh. My "I don't know what I want but i want to smoke something and not care" i like John Patton's Quadruple Virginia.

No big is not the chemical reaction I speak of. It is basically tongue bite and ph problems.

Richard Burley":hw5jtrai said:
McC's Red and Black is my suggestion.
A friend just gave me a partial tin of it from 99 and have not tried it yet.

tarheel7734":5o0lmspm said:
Richard Burley":5o0lmspm said:
McC's Red and Black is my suggestion.
A friend just gave me a partial tin of it from 99 and have not tried it yet.
Don't know how the R&B can be from '99 as it just came out this year !! :twisted: :twisted:

Maybe it was another mcc blend he gave me also. Will look when I get a chance

McClelland's Red & Black is a great suggestion.