"'REJECT from Rep.of Ireland"

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Puffer Mark

Reaction score
I'd certainly say just looking at the stem it's a reject Pete, but what the hell do I know. ;)

I'm an expert, it says so <---there. It's on the Internet and hear after unquestionably true.. :cheers:

Question for a question, who else could it be? BPL? But I've never heard of Peterson marking them "reject product of Ireland". If they were so bad Pete wouldn't sell them why would they bother stamping it "product of Ireland"? And, having had a chest load of Petes, if they wouldn't sell it what is wrong with it? I've have some horrible horrible Petes that they had no problem putting to market.

I've never heard of a reject Pete being offered for sale. Or a Pete 2nd for that matter.

Maybe someone from the Peterson pipe forum would have some insight? I'm not a member there and visit only occasionally, but perhaps the search feature there could yield some results?

Cheers,

RR

Idlefellow":fc2pqr1f said:
Damned nice looking pipe in any case.
So why is it a "reject"?
If it's an outward flaw it would have been chucked into the rustication bucket.

First the disclaimer...I cannot say whether this is, or is not, a Pete; "reject' or whatever!!! Having owned two Peterson "seconds," I can say that they were marked "Irish Seconds," not "rejects." My two were natural finish (I think all Irish seconds are this way) with a few pits, but no fills!!! I wish Peterson's QC was as diligent with their "firsts" as their "seconds!!" FWIW :cheers: FTRPLT

Somebody enjoyed the heck out of that prince there. The big one does resemble a Pete 01 though.

I have an Auld Erin which some research has suggested was a Peterson second line. It has and matches a Peterson shape number. It does not say reject.

Sincere thanks for all the input, Gents.

I'm going to keep an eye on it.

Regards