Show us your favorite axe!

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

s.ireland

Reaction score
Not sure if this has been done before but I'm calling out BoB's guitarists to show off there axe of choice!

I've owned many expensive and nice guitars over the years but after loosing my job 4 years ago, not playing professionally anymore, and two robberies I only have a small portion of my collection left. These are two favorites and I could never part with them. Not only because they aren't worth much money-wise, but because they sound better than guitars that cost $3k and up. I worked in the instrument retail business for three years and have been to several NAMM shows so I've had the pleasure of playing many wonderful instruments.

407960d2.jpg

I pieced both of these together myself (used to do repairs and custom jobs for the store I co-managed)

The tele is made from an American standard body that the store owner let me have after it fell off the wall and the neck broke. Note the battle scars. I slapped on a factory blank Fender neck (Allparts), dressed the frets, added compensated brass saddles to the bridge, threw in a set of Texas Special pickups with a four-way switch and NOS oil and paper caps and a volume kit.

The strat was a special order item that the customer decided not to buy because he wanted Fiesta Red and although this picture isn't very good the guitar is more of a coral or salmon. I loved it so I reshaped the neck into a softer V and threw in a set of Fralin Vintage Hot pickups.

Let's see you favorite(s)!

I just finished making a little guitar love (changing strings, cleaning, oiling fingerboard, etc.) to one of my two favorites in the collection, this 1936 Gibson L50. My other is a Recording King. No pics of that one today.

Yeah well... I don't play guitar. I play synthesizers, and occasionally fix/experiment/upgrade them.