Snuff sensitivity

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hunter5117

Reaction score
Does regular use of snuff increase your sensitivity to nicotine? I have been snuffing for a little under 2 months and for the past 2 weeks I notice that snuffs that didn't really give me much of a kick, now they can send my head spinning. I don't snuff any more than when I started out, in fact maybe a little less due to the pronounced effect I am getting.

Added to this, I haven't been smoking my pipes as much due to the nasty-hot/humid weather, the other night I went out for a bowl of FVF and it gave me much more buzz than I have ever had from it before. Usually there are very few tobaccos that I notice any nicotine effect from.

Guess I would have thought the N effect would have been diminished over time, this has me confused.

might shed some light on it...

from two posts located here - Snus Forum Post

---

Nicotine has a half-life of only about 2 hours, so within one day (24h = 12 half-lives) you only have 0.5 ^ 12 = 0.000244 times as much in your system as you did 24h prior. By two days you have only 60 billionths the amount - it goes away quickly. What doesn't go away quickly is your brain's sensitivity to it. Nicotine stimulates production of several neurotransmitters which, present in excess, reduce the sensitivity of your brain and body to them.

I quote from a 2001 study :