taking the plunge

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

somedumbjerk

Reaction score
New to cigars, and as per normal with me, I went both feet forward from the get. I’ve been smoking pipes pretty regularly for a few years.  In fact, I got into pipes because initially I thought cigars had too much nicotine for me to enjoy. Not sure if my tolerance went up, or if I’m just better at dealing with it, but I’m thoroughly enjoying fine cigars now. Over the past year I discovered that rocky patel decades are amazing. So every once in a long while I would buy one for a smoke at the local B&M in Morgan Hill CA while we played cards and had a beer. Then recently we went to a Cuban restaurant in Palo Alto called La Bodeguita Del Medio for a cocktail and cigar as a going away party for a friend. I had a pardon anniversary 1964 and just fell in love. I don’t remember the size, but it was pretty small. The gauge had to be in the 40s. it was everything I always wanted out of a cigar. If it wasn’t for the price tag, I would have bought as many boxes as they had. My mouth is still watering thinking about it. fast forward a few months and I’m in costa rica on my honeymoon. I realize when I get there that you can buy Cuban cigars. I get a few fake ones, and they were meh. Not bad, just not great. The last day we are there I look up the habanos dealers in the area and find one a few blocks away. We walk in and I end up with a box of cohiba robustos. Smoked one that night and got excited. Great smooth burn, developing flavor, creamy clean tasting smoke. Also the box said nov 2011 or something on it so I think they might have had a few years on them but you can never tell. I end up getting them back to the usa and having to buy a humidor. This leads to online research and now I have quite the collection. I (over) filled up the humidor within a week and bought some heartfelt