The wonderful and mysterious art of pipe smoking

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nogbert

Reaction score
I've been smoking for almost 4 years now, and believed that I had figured out a halfway decent way to pack my pipe. I generally packed loser than I thought I should etc. just for giggles, lately ive been packing much tighter than I am inclined to, and I have had nothing but pleasant results :p

Damn you pipe smoking, you mysterious vixen.

Strange. My experience has been the exact opposite. We apparently reached the ideal middle from different ends. But I still overpack unless I watch myself, my moronic tendency being to "get more in, it'll last longer." Big mistake. For me, the ideal pack seems to be just barely tighter than what it would take to keep the tobacco from dumping out if the pipe were inverted. Works for me, whenever I remember to rein in my subconscious impulse.

I have watched numerous "how to pack a pipe" videos, and it is always very difficult to judge how hard they are pressing the tobacco into the bowl so I've just been doing the least packing possible. I've seen many where they are using much more force so I figured I would try. Nothing that constricts the airflow more than slightly, but still tighter than I have been for ages. I'll have to experiment more and see how I adapt

nogbert":sgjz738t said:
I have watched numerous "how to pack a pipe" videos, and it is always very difficult to judge how hard they are pressing the tobacco into the bowl so I've just been doing the least packing possible. I've seen many where they are using much more force so I figured I would try. Nothing that constricts the airflow more than slightly, but still tighter than I have been for ages. I'll have to experiment more and see how I adapt