This is an unacceptable attack.

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

christeaux

Reaction score
Pamela McColl, a Canadian publisher, has attacked one of the oldest and most endearing smoking traditions. In the latest edition of A Visit From St. Nicholas she has removed any reference to Santa Claus smoking, to include the cover illustration. It is a terrible day in the world when it becomes acceptable for someone to censor a classic piece of art. Nothing is safe anymore. But in following with that tradition we should put a banana hammock on the statue of David. The influence of the nanny state strikes again.

I find this alteration of a classic figure unenlightened at best. The tampering of a cultural and historical figure to appease one's sense of political correctness is disgusting.

While I am not a combative pro-smoker (I accept smoke free establishments and zones, but I don't smoke so often anyways. Hey, put that tomato down!) I find alot of the anti-smoking community's action rediculous. Pipe smoking holds a wonderful place in history. Santa Claus and Sherlock Holmes and many other cultural figures smoked pipes and are just not complete without them.

On that note, I think I will pack my Big Ben Presidential with a bowl of Frog Morton...

God help us! Is nothing sacred? No Christian, American Hero or cherished tradition left untouched by the left. Funny, I was enjoying a bowl of last years MCL Christmas Cheer when I opened BOB tonight. I am loving it all the more now.

Reminds me of the '80s when they took the line: "We'll have a gay old time" out of the theme song from The Flintstones. :p