Vertical Air flow..Oom Pauls, Hungarians and the like?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jazzman

Reaction score
I've been smoking pipes for about 3 years now and have a lot of straight and bent pipes. Being a bit intrigued by the Oom Paul shape and it's fans, I bought a cheap one.

I was disappointed that it didn't pass "the pipe cleaner test". Infact, it had a straight hole drilled about 2 inches down and then another air way hole drilled at an angle (off of the first hole) that ended at the bottom of the chamber. So there is NO way it would pass a pipe cleaner to the bottom.

I'm curious if ALL Oom Pauls are drilled like this? Is it possible to drill a curved hole? The first thing I learned about pipes was that the airway hole had to be straightly aligned to the chamber hole, is that still possible with an Oom Paul?

I really liked the feel of the Oom Paul, but I tend to be a hotter smoker so passing a pipe cleaner through during a smoke is of real importance. I'd appreciate any input from Bros who are big Oom Paul fans.

Thanks-Mike
:cheers:

I've never owned or smoked any full bent, so I cannot comment on if all airways are drilled in that manner or not, though I'd assume most are a straight shot to the bowl. As for drilling with curves and bends I hear Ser Jacopo supposedly is the only maker who has the tooling to drill bends in their pipes, not just an optical illusion like their insanium. I also believe Castello has the tooling for it too but don't utilize it as much. I'm sure someone who smokes Oom Pauls will have a bit more info that you could use rather than coffee table knowledge like me :lol:

bent.jpg