Who's this dougc905 guy anyway?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dougc905

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been posting on and off for a couple of months so far. Originally found the site (I think) through pipes.org. Later I was referred by LL when I sent some pipes to him for a refurb. He posted a picture of one of my pipes at the time.

I have to say that I really like the community here.

Anyway, I am a high school teacher of physics (grade 11 & 12) and general science (grade 9). Started out teaching computer science 19 years ago, moved over to math and then on to the current sciences. Previously I was in the microcomputer field after earning my degree in electrical engineering. Didn't like that and decided to move on. Now I get to spend each day with 120 of my best friends!

I bought my first pipe when I was about 15. Tried it with Amphora Brown. Gagged and threw it all in the garbage. Waited a while and then tried again, this time with another winner - Borkum Riff. Didn't give up. My life was saved when I finally ventured into a B&M in downtown Toronto called Winston & Holmes. The proprietor (and employees) gave me great advice, steered me towards better tobacco and managed to sell me a few pipes to boot. All of this before I was finished university.

(31 years after starting the journey I am still learning.)

Since then I have bought many pipes direct from (the late) John Calich in Toronto, one from Mark Tinsky and one from Horace DeJarnett. I got into the mail order pipe scene in the early days and bought from Nikos Levin and others. Wasn't ripped off. I also cruise eBay for old Savinellis, Ser Jacs and Il Ceppos. Haven't been ripped off there either. I occasionally break the bank for a Castello.

Meager offerings in the B&M's these days have forced me online. It's a slippery slope for retailers.