Wood choices?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alanchrz

Reaction score
I'm new to the world of pipes and pipe making, but so far I'm enjoying it!

Just curious what other woods people have used to make quality pipes? and your opinions on one piece pipes?

Here's my own DIY:
Cocobolo

Image03072012134252.jpg

Image03072012154648.jpg

03112012008.jpg

03112012010.jpg

03112012007.jpg

Olive (Unfinished)

Image03142012195749.jpg

Comment and criticism is welcome! Thanks for looking

I've heard of (as shown) cocobolo and olive wood, but there's cherry wood, corn cob, and morta. These, besides briar, are the only things I know of that have been used to make quality pipes.

All I personally have are the standard briar and a couple in morta.

Nice one-piece pipes you've made. Did you stain and seal them with a separate finish or just smooth and wax them?

These have no stain- I've sealed them and that's all. Lit the Cocobolo pipe today, smokes very well!

A previous (and failed) attempt, I had gone ahead and finished just to see how it would look and to 'test' a few options. It was finished with wax and gave it a great finish.. I'm sure I'll be using that again soon!

I'm confused.

You've sealed the pipes with...varnish? Shellac? And then waxed them, or you've only used wax and nothing else?

I've made a few pipes and found truly "sealing" them with something (rather than leaving them just wax) made them smoke differently--so, just wondering.

Oh, sorry! I used poly to seal it. I know there's better options and poly is more than likely the wrong way to go, but this was meant more for a mantle piece-- a conversation piece if you will. Of course I want it to be functional but when it came down to it, I was looking to make it and display it.

I'm still sanding the Olive pipe and it will be sealed with carnauba wax.