A comparison of my straight virginias

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billmess

Reaction score
Recently, I have noticed a few posts about SG blends and worries about getting a constant supply. This post is in response to those posts and decribes my experience with a few blends. First a disclaimer: I am not an expert, I do not claim to be an expert, I do not want to be an expert. The views are my opinion and I really dont want to get into a debate with anyone about how poor my taste is. With any luck this post will help out a newbie.
The following, is a list of my favorite virginias in order from mild to full flavor:

Dunhill Flake: This was the first Virginia and for the first puff I knew I was going to love virginias. Smells great in the tin. It is very light. But, dont let that fool you. Just because it is light does not mean it lacks complexity. The taste is great, it is pretty easy to light, and it burns evenly. The moisture content seems to be close to perfect right out of the tin. What more could you ask for? This was my first love and I will always go back to her for more smokey goodness.

IRC flake: This stuff, for me, is the bridge between dunhill flake and FVF. It shares some characteristics each of these two blends possess. When I open the jar it smells heavenly. Well ok you got me, I dont know what heaven smells like but this is close to what my heaven would smell like. The flavor is mild, only slightly stronger than Dunhill. IRC flake is a complex tombacco. The flavors do change as you smoke your way through the bowl. It is pretty easy to light, so the fold and stuff method really is no problem. Overall this is a great tobacco that seems to overlooked. FYI, this is the blend I use to break in my new pipes. The slow even burn seems to leave a nice, even cake.