About Corn Cobs, Their Stems And Their Taste

• Thread starter Deleted member 4028
  • Start date
Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
D

Deleted member 4028

In the past, I have tried over a dozen CC pipes, filtered (without putting a filter in the shank, however) and non filtered. I always gave up on them because of what was to me an awful aftertaste developing after 8-10 pipefuls, regardless of the tobacco smoked in them. This taste has nothing to do with the part of the shank in the tobacco chamber that will partially get burned by the tobacco. It's a different aftertaste.
Could it be the wood used for the shank? God knows.
I have no idea if anybody experienced this issue as well. But I have read on a few forums that vulcanite or acrylic stems make a radical difference when it comes down to the smoking experience.
This being said, I am wondering if that taste comes from the plastic stems and if an acrylic stem will make things better?
'Cause I kind if like those pipes and kind of find it disappointing not to have a few because of that unpleasant aftertaste.
I am curious as to the CC Brother's impressions on that issue.  :)

You may just not like corn cob funkiness. Nothing wrong with that. But tell me, are you smoking the larger cobs from Missouri Meerschaum, like the Country Gentleman? I never liked the smaller versions at all. And smoking too fast and hot will make bad flavors, even more so than with a briar. And burley works best, in my biased opinion. Other than that, I'd say the bad taste is the shank "tongue" still carbonizing. I don't notice any taste difference with upscale stems, but maybe. You should be entering into sweet smoke territory, and you're not. See my first sentence.