Another Iowan checking in

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fishfly

Reaction score
I'm a retired English teacher and software engineer (educational software and avionics) living in Northeast Iowa.

I've been smoking a pipe off and on (mostly off) since about 1963. I started with drug store aromatics and a few pipe store house blends. I gave up the cigarettes about 15 years ago and (after a year no nicotine except hanging around cigarette smokers just for the second hand smoke) smoked cigars since. But cigars have started to get too expensive (I'm a serious cheapskate) so I ordered a pound of Newminster English Luxus and fell in love. Wondering if there were others out there even better, I ordered a Sutliff English sampler and the Newminster English Oriental. I'm also trying a straight Burley, Prince Albert, Carter Hall, and Mississippi River (just because I live on the real one). So far all are "not-wasted-money," but nothing has beat the English Luxus, so I' sticking to what I know I like for a while.

My pipes are mostly inexpensive ones (have I mentioned that I'm a serious cheapskate?) that I have picked up over the years: No Names, Medicos, Dr. Grabos, Kawoodies, Careys, and one cheap meerschaum. I did buy a great GBD diplomat from e-bay that smokes even better than my Medicos and looks a hell of a lot better. Thus, I'm watching for GBDs on e-bay and trying to fight off a Pipe Acquisition Disorder infection.

I've been reading this forum for a couple months and am impressed with the intelligence, personable-ness, and downright friendless of the participants. I am pretty much an introvert, so I probably won't contribute as much as some of you, but I've found several topics in which I think my thoughts might be useful.

fishfly":1r7ttfg7 said: