Ebay advice???

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Searock Fan

Reaction score
I'm kind of new at buying pipes on the internet and was wondering if any of you have any advise about buying pipes on Ebay? And if you can recommend any other good places.

I only buy from a seller that gives pictures of the pipe 360 degees and inside bowl wear. Should be about the max in 12 pictures and save them on a laptop or desktop to blow them up to pick up fills, pits and top of bowl wear along with stem bites. Hope this helps and welcome to the forum. Flea market antique shops and resell shops.

I'm kind of new at buying pipes on the internet and was wondering if any of you have any advise about buying pipes on Ebay?
Don't get caught up in the bidding action. You may win the auction, but pay more than a Pipe's value.Have you looked at the Estate pipes area of Smokingpipes.com?
And (lol) ask yourself if you need another pipe.
The magic phrase with Ebay sellers=Accepts returns

Last edited:
Another thought. In another post you described a collection that includes many expensive Italian pipes. Obviously, you have the means to purchase and assemble a fine collection. Have you considered commissioning your own custom designed pipes with domestic carvers?

anyone know how RSteve is doing? Hope he is well.

back to ebay advice...always add it to your watch list. ALWAYS. I bet a good 50% of the time, and even more so outside of pipes, I get hit with an offer within a few hours. It doesn't mean anything when a guy is selling a $90 pipe for $199.99 Buy It Now and giving me an offer of $190, but adding things to your watch list instantly notifies sellers that a new person is in play. And it costs you nothing to get that potential ball rolling.