Going sans filter...Your thoughts?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aaronjm

Reaction score
I've been a cigar smoker for years, but I'm a novice to pipes. My collection consists of one $12 corn cob with a Medico filter. I like the way the pipe draws with the filter, but just tried smoking it without. Upon removal of the filter I noticed that it draws too loosely.

My question is this...If I remove the filter on a pipe made to hold one, do I need to pack my tobacco more tightly to get a firmer draw? Will packing it more tightly not prevent my bowl from holding a light?

I fear that my questions may indicate a wealth of ignorance on my part, and I appreciate any guidance a brother can offer.

Yours,

Aaron

Hi Aaron,

Most of the time, I use a filter when smoking a pipe. I guess I’m filling it only a little bit more tightly when smoking without a filter.
Either way, I sort of adjust the packing so I get the optimum draw – then light the tobacco and enjoy!

Best, Lars

Aaron, you can remove the filter and pack your tobacco appropriately to get the draw you prefer. Over time you will find out how different tobaccos need to be packed. A pipe should not draw as firmly as does a cigar, you sip on a pipe rather than pull hard on it. The firmer pack will likely help the burn quality of the pipe, as a dense coal tends to stay lit better once you get it going. A very light tamping between lights helps keep the fire burning as well.

After 30 plus years I am just deciding that I have been packing my pipes too tight all this time and am enjoying the flavor much more now with a looser pack. It may in fact smoke better, the medico type filters are not known for being smooth and clean drawing.