Looking for some advice/ideas.

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Briarbabe

Reaction score
If there's one thing I can count on, it's getting a wide array of replies from the BoB and that's just what I'm hoping for here. I need your advice. I am 34 years old, I've been out of the work force since 2008 when I had my first son. I have a high school diploma and that's it. I have experience as a teller, insurance agent, and admin. assist. Right now I am running an inhome daycare as, realistically, it's the only job I can afford to have because I can't afford to pay someone else for daycare. My youngest starts school in two years. I need to be able to care for this family properly and right now I just can't do it. We live in a society that basically demands dual incomes to raise a family, and so I am looking into going back to school. Long gone are the days of the dreamy eyed graduate following some dream or looking to 'make a difference'. The only difference I am looking to make at the end of the day is in my bank account. Unfortunately, due to my daycare, attending classes at a campus during the day is out of the question, and most of the adult programs that are geared towards folks my age who attend in the evening, are for degrees that just don't pay well in the real world job market.

Here's what I need:

A degree that can be done (almost) totally online.

In a field that has a good job forecast

That pays pretty damn well (again, single mom, single income)

The obvious choice is the healthcare field, but the biggest road block I am finding is most of those degrees require attending on campus (during the day). I need ideas, suggestions, stories of friends/family who did it. Anything really, that you think will be helpful. I think it goes without saying, thank you, very much, for your help.