Meerschaums and clays?

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DWSmith

Reaction score
Like I said in another post, I have more pipes than I will ever need. That number is well under 30 ... but ... I don't have any meerschaums nor clays, just briars and cobs.

Am I really missing out on anything special?

I have exactly one meer, one Dutch clay tavern pipe, and one clay pipe with a reed stem. The clays offer a small bowl, perfect for sampling.
I rarely reach for them as I’m not fond of the mouth feel of a clay stem or a reed stem. As for the meer - I’ve never smoked it. I think the appeal of a meer lies in its potential artistry. I’m sure it also changes the smoking experience somewhat, but I have no personal experience with it.

If you do experiment with a clay or porcelain pipe, just be aware many of them have bowls that will get hot enough to cause a minor burn

wlG1D1hl.jpg

1) Two meerschaums (not visible in the pic)
2) Two meerschaum-bowled calabashes
3) One clay-bowled (porcelain?) calabash
4) One double-walled clay or porcelain calabash shape
5) One clay churchwarden (not visible)
6) Two double-walled and two single walled clay or porcelain pipes

Since all are relatively fragile and I don't smoke in the house I rarely reach for any, but I do have the occasional back yard smoke with a meer or calabash. My clay churchwarden gets a bowl every year at Christmastime but nothing other than that. You'll get no truer tobacco taste than with a clay. I have enjoyed all down through the years and each has its own characteristics but I'd say it's a personal thing as to whether or not you're missing anything.

Yeah, since I don't smoke in the house I'd probably drop it on the concrete floor in the garage during the winter.