New computer advice

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So, I am overdue on upgrading my home 'puter. There are more and more sites it refuses to connect to as they apparently have too much data or something and my old timer cannot handle it.

So what I'm looking for is just a tower. Don't want a laptop. I might consider an all-in-one, but my present monitor is more than adequate.

I don't do games or stuff like netflix. Just basic stuff like e-mail, web surfing, and of course the forum. I occasionally like to check out youtube for tunes and movies there.

So what should I be looking for in terms of specs? I don't need the top of the line.

And I'm given to understand that $250 - $300 will get me what I need according to my local computer geek.

TIA

Cheers,

RR

BD,

I have some thoughts on this, but I'm no expert.  In my personal opinion, you could probably have one built for between $250-300, but in my opinion, it will take closer to $350 to get a decent system that can handle your needs, and leave you an extra buffer to accommodate any potential need to upgrade in the future.  For example, check out this little baby that's available at Costco: https://www.costco.com/Acer-Aspire-TC-Tower---Intel-Core-i3.product.100383325.html

Something like this would be more than adequate.  Will have plenty of room for storage of music, photos, documents, etc...and be powerful enough to multitask if necessary without slowing your machine down too much.

Just my novice opinion.

Loren

BriarBeagle":ycvmfqz0 said:
BD,