Personal Enjoyment and the Cost of the Pipe

Brothers of Briar

Help Support Brothers of Briar:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Amenhotep04

Reaction score
Hey all, this is my first post here, but I've got a question. I've been smoking pipes for a little over 10 years now. I've got a collection of about 24 pipes. About 12 of those are Italian, hand made pipes, Viprati, Santambrogio, Pipi Croci, Mastro de Paja, Spanu, and Moretti. A few more are also American handmade. They all have either lucite or acrylic stems. The value of those pipes retail, and brand new are in the $150-$250 range, and God knows what they'd sell for on eBay. Recently I've been looking at pipes in the $400 - $1000 range going to pipe makers websites.

Now, I noticed a HUGE difference between the smoke of my early pipes, compared to the handmade pipes mentioned above. Does the quality of smoke increase with the amount of money spent? Is it a point of diminishing returns? Aesthetics? I realize there's some subjectivity there.

With that said however, I do have a yello-bole that I paid $5 for and it rocks. And my first pipe was a grab-bag little bent that is still in the rotation.

Anyway, thanks. :farao:

Amenhotep04":ir0rtihm said:
Is it a point of diminishing returns? Aesthetics?